OTM Awards 2012 will be announced all this week!

LOS ANGELES, California — The 10th annual OTM Awards will be announced each day this week, starting on Monday, January 14th and ending on Friday, January 18th. We at OTM are very proud to say that we started these awards a decade ago and have watched some of these athletes develop into household names in the sports of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu (BJJ), Submission Grappling (No-Gi), and Mixed Martial Arts (MMA). To celebrate the growth of these sports, we added more categories last year and we will once again be awarding people in different 16 categories in all 3 sports. The schedule of the OTM Awards announcements this week are as follows:

Monday, January 14th: Instructor of the Year, Model of the Year, Comeback of the Year, and Organization of the Year.

Tuesday, January 15th: Breakthrough BJJ Player of the Year, Breakthrough Submission Grappler of the Year, and Breakthrough MMA Fighter of the Year.

Wednesday, January 16th: BJJ Match of the Year, Submission Grappling Match of the Year, and MMA Fight of the Year.

Thursday, January 17th: BJJ Player of the Year (Female), Submission Grappler of the Year (Female), and MMA Fighter of the Year (Female).

Friday, January 18th: BJJ Player of the Year (Male) , Submission Grappler of the Year (Male), and MMA Fighter of the Year (Male).


Previous OTM BJJ Players of the Year: Fredson Paixão (2003), Ronaldo "Jacare" Souza (2004) Alexandre "Xande" Ribeiro (2005), Marcelo Garcia (2006), Rafael Lovato Jr. (2007), Rubens "Cobrinha" Charles (2008), Roger Gracie (2009), Rafael Mendes (2010), Rodolfo Vieira (2011).

Previous OTM Breakthrough BJJ Players of the Year: Augusto "Tanquinho" Mendes (2011).

Previous OTM Submission Grapplers of the Year: Dean Lister (2003) Jeff Monson (2004), Roger Gracie (2005), Chris Moriarty (2006), Xande Ribeiro (2007), Jeff Monson (2008), Braulio Estima (2009), João Assis (2010), Andre Galvão (2011).

Previous OTM Breakthrough Submission Grapplers of the Year: Jeff Glover (2011).

Previous OTM MMA Fighters of the Year: Wanderlei Silva (2003), B.J. Penn (2004), Takanori Gomi (2005), Mirko "Cro Cop" Filipovich (2006), Anderson Silva (2007), Miguel Torres (2008), Jose Aldo (2009), Nick Diaz (2010), Jon Jones (2011).

Previous OTM Breakthrough MMA Fighters of the Year: Ronda Rousey (2011).

Previous OTM Female Combat Athletes of the Year: Leonor "Nori" Avellan / Jennifer Locke (2004), Kyra Gracie (2005), Tara LaRosa (2006), Hannette Staack (2007), Gina Carano (2008), Luanna Alzuguir (2009), Cristiane "Cyborg" Santos (2010).

Previous OTM Female BJJ Players of the Year: Luanna Alzuguir (2011).

Previous OTM Female Submission Grapplers of the Year: Kyra Gracie (2011).

Previous OTM Female MMA Fighters of the Year: Miesha Tate (2011).

Previous OTM Instructors of the Year: Marc Laimon (2004), Renzo Gracie (2005), Carlson Gracie (2006), Cleber Luciano (2007), Romero "Jacare" Cavalcanti (2008), Dave Camarillo (2009), Cesar Gracie (2010), Ramon Lemos (2011).

Previous OTM Models of the Year: Brittney Palmer (2011).

Previous OTM Comebacks of the Year: Dean Lister (2011).

Previous OTM Organizations of the Year: UFC | Ultimate Fighting Championship (2011).


Here is a photo of last year’s OTM Awards, as well as photos of last year’s "OTM MMA Fighter of the Year" Jon Jones (with Bevois) and "OTM Submission Grappler of the Year" Andre Galvão (with Scotty) as they are receiving their OTM Awards!

TechGasp Comments Master

About the author

OTM News