Stars of Jiu-Jitsu and grappling world to meet this weekend at ADCC 2011 in England – see competitor list here

ADCC 2011
September 24 & 25
Nottingham, England
Anticipation for ADCC 2011 has been brewing for months. With competitors entering a week of rest before heading to England this week, the rest of the jiu jitsu and grappling world will have to sit patiently the Sept 24-25th weekend long event in Nottingham.
This year’s ADCC, which moves to a different worldwide location every year, will take place on Braulio Estima’s “second-home” turf of England, where the black belt has opened his own Gracie Barra academies since he moved from his native Brazil.
The two superfight matchups for ADCC 2011 include the likes of four Jiu-Jitsu icons. In the event’s headlining event, "Jacare" Souza will face Gracie Barra superstar Braulio Estima.
You can watch Braulio in this 2009 ADCC clip where he defeats Andrea Galvao in via reverse triangle
The second superfight on the roster includes Renzo Gracie vs. Mario Sperry. Earlier this month,  Renzo Gracie told journalist, Ariel Helwani, “… I have this grappling match with Zé Mario Sperry coming up and it was a great present from Sheikh Tahnoon to call on Zé for this superfight. In reality, it’s a way for me to sharpen up my game for a return to MMA. It’s a great chance to get in shape and get ready. For sure I’ll be back in the UFC…” Sperry is a protégé of Carlson Gracie and highly regarded for his multiple ADCC and World Championship titles.
Fans will also be able to watch the championships through, purchase the live stream PPV here.

ADCC 2011Superfights:
Braulio Estima vs. Ronaldo "Jacare" Souza
Mario Sperry vs. Renzo Gracie
ADCC 2011 Competitors list (via Kid Peligro):


1. Rafael Mendes. Brazil

2. Greger Forsel. Finland

3. Marko Ramos. USA

4. David Marinakis. Australia

5. Tetsu Hadairo. Japan

6. Jeff Glover. USA

7. Bruno Frazzato. Brazil

8. Timo-Juhani Hirvikangas. Finland

9. Ryan Hall. USA

10. Rubens “Cobrinha” Charles. Brazil

11. Tom Barlow. U.K

12. Barret Yoshida. USA

13. Rani Yahya. Brazil

14. Robson Moura. Brazil

15. Justin Rader. USA

16. Jeremy Umphries. USA


1. Daniel Strauss. U.K

2. Jorge Britto. Portugal

3. Vagner Rocha. USA

4. Davis Hart. Australia

5. Sanshiro Nakakura. Japan

6. Enricco Coco. USA

7. Murilo Santana. Brazil

8. Gregor Gracie. Brazil

9. Leo Viera. Brazil

10. Gunnar ‘viking’ Nelson. Iceland

11. Marcello Garcia. Brazil

12. Kron Gracie. Brazil

13. JT Torres. USA

14. Augusto Mendes. Brazil

15. Claudio Calasans. Brazil

16. Clark Gracie. Brazil


1. Andre Galvao. Brazil

2. Marko Helen. Finland

3. Kyle Griffin. USA

4. Cameron Rowe. Australia

5. Jeon Doo Kwang. Korea

6. David Avellan. USA

7. Rafael Lovato. USA

8. Zbigniew Tyszka. Poland

9. Pablo Popovitch. USA

10. Dan Schon. Mexico

11. Rousimar Palhares. Brazil

12. Romulo Barral. Brazil

13. Sergio Moraes. Brazil

14. Paulo Filho. Brazil

15. James Harbison. USA

16. Gunnar ‘viking’ Nelson. Iceland


1. Xande Ribeiro. Brazil

2. Kari Peltola. Finland

3. Joseph Lee Baize. USA

4. Igor Praporshchikov. Australia

5. Animal Anzai. Japan

6. James Poupolo. USA

7. Augusto Ferrari. Brazil

8. Kamil Uminski. Poland

9. Victor Estima replaces (Roger Gracie. Brazil, out due to inury as of 9/13)

10. Rudolfo Viera. Brazil

11. Dean Lister. USA

12. Lucio Rodrigues. Brazil (Robert Drysdale. USA, out as of 9/15)

13. Joao Assis. Brazil

14. Radek Turek. Poland

15. Antonio Peinado. Brazil

16. James Brasco. USA


1. Fabricio Werdum. Brazil

2. Janne-Pekka Pietiläinen. Finland

3. Jarrod Bunch. USA

4. Mick Wilson. Australia

5. Sekine Hideki. Japan

6. Alexander Trans. Denmark

7. Gabriel Vella. Brazil

8. Mateusz Juskowiak. Poland

9. Jeff Monson. USA

10. Roberto de Abreu. Brazil

11. Bruno Bastos. Brazil

12. Vinny Magalhaes. Brazil

13. Jose Fereira Junior. Brazil

14. Gerardi Rinaldi. USA

15. Rodrigo Artilheiro. Brazil

16. Luke Costello
1. Luanna Alzuguir. Brazil

2. Lara Jayne Ng. Australia

3. Hashi Takayo. Japan

4. Cathilee Albert. USA

5. Michele Nicolin. Brazil

6. Sara Svensson. Sweden

7. Kyra Gracie. Brazil

8. Rosi Sexton. U.K


+60kg female

1. Hannette Staack. Brazil

2. Fiona Muxlow. Australia

3. Penny Thomas. South Africa

4. Talita Nogueira. Brazil

5. Devi Ahuja. Norway

6. Gabrielle Garcia. Brazil

7. Ida Hansson Sweden

8. Katrina Weilbacher. USA



TechGasp Comments Master

About the author