MMA Bout Announcements: August 24th


Joe Proctor(11-3-0) faces off with Magomed Mustafaev(12-1-0) at UFC 194 while Brendan O’Reilly(6-1-0) goes against the Brazilian William Macario(7-3-0) at UFC 193.

Aisling Daly(15-6-0) looks to wash away the upset loss with a match against the Brazilian Ericka Almedia(7-1-0) at UFC Fight Night 76.

Nate Diaz(17-10-0) returns from almost a year off against Michael Johnson(16-9-0) at UFC on Fox 17. Johnson suffered a loss to Beneil Dariush that a lot of people though he should win while Diaz is looking for just his second win in five fights after losing to Benson Henderson, Josh Thompson and current UFC Lightweight champion Rafael dos Anjos.

The UFC has announced a card for South Korea called UFC Fight Night 79 and in the main event will be Benson Henderson(22-5-0) against Thiago Alves(21-10-0) at welterweight. This will be the former champions second fight at 170 while Alves lost out on a  title shot when he was finished by Carlos Condit. Cro Cop(31-11-2) also returns against the odd choice of Anthony Hamilton(14-4-0). Obviously it will be good to see Cro Cop back in the Octagon, but if he loses it will be a huge detriment to his career.

Also set for the card, Dong Hyun Kim(20-3-1) looks to build on a recent win by taking on former top lightweight Jorge Masvidal(29-9-0)in his second Welterweight fight. Lastly, Yoshihiro Akiyama(14-5-0) looks to continue his winning streak from over Amir Sandollah by taking not he undefeated Alberto Mina(11-0-0).

Frankie Edgar may not have an opponent yet, but the former champion finally has a date before the year is out to fight at the TUF 22 finale. One has to wonder if a fight with Max Holloway is eminent considering that he barely fought this weekend. It may not be a fight in Hawaii but it for sure is a big fight and potential to lead to a title shot.

WSOF Lightweight Tourney: 1 Night 8 Fighters

WSOF is putting on a one night tournament with eight Lightweight fighters. The winner of this tournament will earn the right to fight for the Lightweight title at an event next year. The field of eight includes Islam Mamedov(12-1-0), TUF veteran Mike Ricci(10-4-0), Joao Zeferino(18-6-0), MMA veteran Jorge Patino(37-15-2), former UFC fighter Brian Cobb(20-8-0), the winner of a fight between LaRue Burley(6-0-0) and Brian Foster will enter the tournament and one undetermined fighter yet to be named.

TechGasp Comments Master

About the author

Scotty OTM